COVID-19 Mankey Law Office is dedicated to helping those charged with a crime during these difficult times. We are available for consultations via, phone, video conferencing such as Facetime, Zoom, etc., and in person while practicing safe social distancing.
Photo of Matthew J. Mankey

Respectful Of You. Aggressive With Prosecutors.

Photo of Matthew J. Mankey
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » DUI/DWI

DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer Serving The Minneapolis Metro

Last updated on November 16, 2023

The signs posted above Minnesota overpasses aren’t lying: Authorities routinely send out extra patrols to catch drunk drivers in the Twin Cities area. Once they do make an arrest, they prosecute aggressively, particularly repeat offenders.

If you are arrested for driving while impaired (DWI), also commonly referred to as driving under the influence (DUI), you face serious consequences. You need a criminal law attorney who will vigorously defend your rights.

Know Your Rights And Options

Recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions have changed the landscape of DWI defense. Attorney Matthew J. Mankey is committed to staying current with any changes in federal or Minnesota law that may affect your case. Call 612-424-9454 to schedule a free case review with Mr. Mankey.

Understanding Minnesota’s Drunk Driving Laws

In Minnesota, the legal limit is a blood alcohol content of .08. The maximum punishment for a first-time DWI is 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. Mandatory penalties for a first-time DWI include a chemical dependency assessment, a loss of driving privileges and payment of reinstatement penalties.

Under Minnesota law, a commercial vehicle operator with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .04 or above can be arrested for DWI. A commercial vehicle driver who violates the .04 standard is subject to suspension of his or her commercial driver’s license for up to one year. Your job is at stake! Put an experienced Minneapolis DUI/DWI lawyer on your side.

If you drive drunk with a child in your car, have a blood alcohol concentration of .16 or more, or you are convicted of DWI more than once per decade, you may be charged with a third-degree DWI that, if convicted, could result in the receipt of a more severe penalty, including a lengthier jail sentence, higher fine and license suspension of a year or more. The procedures and penalties also differ for minors.

The Skilled Criminal Defense To Protect Your Freedom

We review every aspect of a DWI case, beginning with the initial police stop and any field sobriety tests. Even veteran police officers may violate your constitutional rights during a DWI arrest. If your rights were violated, you may be able to get your charges reduced or dismissed.

We also pay close attention to how breath tests are administered or a blood or urine sample is taken. Breathalyzer machines are known for obtaining false readings, and authorities do not always strictly follow procedures when administering these tests. If we can challenge the admissibility of your test results, this can lead to reduced charges or even complete dismissal of your case.

Begin Building Your Defense Today

We encourage you to contact us to arrange a free, no-obligation consultation with our experienced attorney. If you are in Minneapolis or the western suburbs area, email us to schedule an appointment at our Golden Valley office, conveniently located just off I-394.