Indecent Exposure FAQ
All states, including Minnesota, prohibit some forms of indecent exposure, but states define this act differently and it can be difficult to know what the law prohibits. Here are some answers to commonly asked questions about indecent exposure laws in Minnesota.
What constitutes indecent exposure in Minnesota?
Indecent exposure typically involves some form of lewd conduct in a public place. It often, but not always, involves someone exposing private parts of their body or forcing someone else to do so. It can also involve public “lascivious behavior.”
Is breast-feeding in public indecent exposure?
No. Minnesota law clearly states that breast-feeding is not considered indecent exposure.
What are the penalties for indecent exposure in Minnesota?
For a first offense, indecent exposure is typically prosecuted as a misdemeanor, with fines of up to $1,000 and up to 90 days in jail. However, you may be charged with a gross misdemeanor — and face up to $3,000 in fines and up to one year in jail — if the alleged exposure is in front of a child aged 15 or younger, or if you have been convicted of indecent exposure or another sex crime in the past. A second charge of exposure in front of a child is usually charged as a felony, as is false imprisonment of the victim of exposure. At the felony level, penalties can rise to up to $10,000 in fines and up to five years in jail.
Does someone have to register as a sex offender for indecent exposure?
People convicted of felony indecent exposure in Minnesota are required to register as a sex offender.
Let Us Answer Any Other Questions You May Have
For answers to your questions about a specific case, please call our office at 612-424-9454 or contact us online to schedule your free consultation with Matthew J. Mankey. Attorney Mankey has represented people charged with misdemeanors and felonies in the Minneapolis and the western suburbs area for more than 30 years. Our office is located just off I-394 in Golden Valley.