The laws surrounding marijuana in the state of Minnesota changed greatly in 2014 when the state signed medical marijuana legislation into law. Marijuana has not been decriminalized in Minnesota, one of the many states in the country yet to decriminalize the drug. Here is a brief look at the marijuana laws of the state of Minnesota.
The following are the charges levied against subjects found with marijuana on their person in the state of Minnesota:
- 42.5 grams or less: This is a petty misdemeanor that comes with a $200 fine and possible enrollment in a drug education course.
- Possession of marijuana above 42.5 grams up to 10 kilograms: This is charged as a felony and comes with a fine of up to $5,000 and no more than five years in jail.
- Possession of marijuana between 10 and 50 kilograms: This is also charged as a felony, but it comes with no more than 20 years in jail and up to a fine of $250,000.
- Possession of marijuana between 50 and 100 kilograms: This is charged as a felony and it comes with no more than 25 years in jail and a fine of $500,000.
- Possession of marijuana totaling 100 or more kilograms is charged as a felony and comes with jail time of no more than 30 years and a fine of $1,000,000.
Being charged with a crime in Minnesota can be scary, even if it’s a misdemeanor for possession of marijuana. An experienced marijuana attorney will be able to explain the situation, your rights and how you can go about getting the charges reduced or dropped.
Source: FindLaw, “Minnesota Marijuana Laws,” accessed Aug. 11, 2017