If you enjoy smoking marijuana, you probably already know that it’s not legal in Minnesota. Recreationally using marijuana is only legal in a few states, but that doesn’t mean you won’t face charges if you buy, sell or possess marijuana in Minnesota.
Is that fair? In some ways, it isn’t. Federally, marijuana is not legal, either, though, so even in states where marijuana is legal, it’s possible to be arrested or charged for using marijuana.
Drug laws in America are sometimes complicated, particularly when some states allow a drug and others do not. As someone who has been caught with marijuana, it’s important to start defending yourself. Being in possession of 42.5 grams up to 10 kilograms is a felony in Minnesota. It could result in five years in prison. Even if you have only a gram of marijuana, you still face a misdemeanor charge,
What happens if you sell marijuana in Minnesota?
If you sell marijuana in the state, you face charges as well. You may have to attend a drug education course regardless of the amount you sell. If you sell to a minor, it’s immediately a felony with a possible penalty of up to 20 years in prison. Selling in a school zone, even if it’s not to a minor, is also a felony.
On top of the possibility of a prison sentence, you could face heavy fines for selling or possessing marijuana. For example, trying to sell marijuana to a minor leads to a fine of up to $250,000.
Besides these penalties, you could lose your license if you are convicted of possessing or selling marijuana to anyone. Marijuana is a schedule I drug in Minnesota, which means it’s highly restricted and controlled. You need to defend yourself if you face these accusations.